Worldcon here I come

The preparations have been a year in the making, the countdown began in February when I bought the tickets. Now finally, I have three more sleeps to go before I head off to attend my very first overseas Worldcon. I have been very lucky to have had two local Worldcons to attend, Aussiecon 3 and 4. Aussiecon 3 was my very first science fiction convention, and what an introduction to fandom it was. I was happy to help out and soon was drafted into managing the Hugo ceremony which was one of my best experiences ever.

Ever since then I have gotten into the spirit of volunteerism by helping organise various conventions, club nights and so on, culminating in Aussiecon 4 where I helped organise the dealers’ room. I have derived great enjoyment from being on committees and helping out but to be honest I am really looking forward to this event where I can just be one of the crowd, happy to go with the flow and not miss out on any of the events which I have marked in my calendar.

So I will be hopefully updating this blog a little more regularly than my usual efforts with experiences from my trip and hopefully a few photos (I bought a spiffy new camera just for this trip, hoping that my indifferent photography will suddenly morph into professional quality) and some interesting tidbits along the way.

Don’t worry there won’t be anything profound. I don’t do profound. Next time you hear from me I will be in the sunny state of California, sipping Napa wines by the poolside. Envy me, yes envy me please 🙂

4 thoughts on “Worldcon here I come

Leave a Reply

