The Australian Women Writers 2012 Reading Challenge

Well, I am going to do two challenges this year.  Challenge my apathy and the Australian Women Writers 2012 Reading Challenge.  For those of you unaware of the Challenge please click on this link http://www.australianwomenwriters.com/p/australian-women-writers-book-challenge_25.html or copy and paste it into your browser.

I think the challenge is something everyone can easily accomplish.  We are readers anyway aren’t we?  What is the difference between reading a book in the genre you love if it just happens to be by an Australian female author?  I have a list of a few different books I would like to read, and my friend Lucy Sussex (another fine Australian author) has given me a couple of books to start off my list.

I am going to try the Franklin Fantastic Challenge (why not aim high?) which is to read at least 10 books and review at least 4 of them.  I am also going to try to mix it up with a couple of different genres.  I already have several books on my shelves waiting to be read so there won’t be any trouble in fulfilling that promise I think.  The books I am going to read are the ones below (not necessarily exclusively these but these are the ones I have at hand at the moment)

The Reformed Vampire Support Group – By Catherine Jinks – YA Fantasy

Ruby Blues by Jessica Rudd – Chicklit comedy

The Siren’s Song by Miranda Darling – Crime Thriller

The King’s Bastard by Rowena Cory Daniells – Fantasy

Matilda Told Such Dreadful Lies by Lucy Sussex – Short Story Collection Fantasy

Burn Bright by Marianne de Pierres – YA Science Fiction

Cocaine Blues by Kerry Greenwood – Crime Historical ( I especially want to read this one before the series starts on the ABC next year)

The Undivided by Jennifer Fallon – Fantasy (I actually think Jennifer is a NZ author but she stays on the list anyway 🙂 )

The Dark Griffin by KJ Taylor – YA Fantasy

Witches Incorporated by KE Mills – Fantasy

Well, the challenge is set and the games begin January 1st, let the reading begin 🙂

6 thoughts on “The Australian Women Writers 2012 Reading Challenge

    • Yes Jennifer was quick to point out she was Australian 🙂 I would have read her anyway. I found her writing course to be quite insightful so I am presuming her books will be doubly so. And if you want to be nit picky, Lucy is a NZ author living in Australia, although considering she has lived in Melbourne longer than I have, it hardly counts.

  1. LOl Australia just has a tendency to claim any successful New Zealander as our own anyway! I look forward to seeing what you read for the challenge!

Leave a comment